Home General Data History Culture Politics Map Encyclopedia About Links
Biographies Phenomena s s s s s s s


The municipality of Westerland lies south of the municipality of Koninginneland, and Jaltadaburg, Friescheburg, and Markenland to the east. The capital is Aalburg (Aalborg in Kronenburgish). Westerland has existed in its current form since 2016, after the city of Friescheburg became a municipality of its own and the municipality of Zuiderland was added to Westerland.

Between Friescheburg and Nijenstijn lies the Royal Castle ('Koninklijk Slot'), the residence of the Grand Duke and Duchess of Alexanderstad (i.s. the former king Alexander IV Lodewijk and his wife queen Livia). The castle was built in the seventeenth century for the head of state to live in. Because however no Kronenburgish king lived in Kronenburg until 1795 and kings Willem IV, Alexander I and Alexander II didn't want to live in the castle, it remained empty for the larger part of two centuries. Queen Marianne became however fascinated by the castle's beauty in 1903 and had it restored, after which she moved in in 1916. Apart from king Jan II and now king Ernst I Frederik, all Kronenburgish sovereigns have lived in the Royal Castle since then. The castle has a large garden with a lot of fountains and some labyrinths; parts of this garden can be visited by the general public in summer.

Other settlements in the southern part of the Westerland municipality that are located on the West Island are the small towns of Ommeland and Aalburg (which used to be the capital of Koninginneland, until the town became part of Westerland after a redivision of the municipal borders; now it is the capital of Westerland), as well as the villages Juul and Papenvuur. The latter is - quite morbidly - named after a large burning of catholics by protestants in 1695. This action turned out to be completely useless; the evidence of this is the large Ursula Cathedral, that towers high above the village, rendering it almost invisible. The Ursula Cathedral is the third largest cathedral of Kronenburg.

Nijenstijn is a young city which celebrated its tenth anniversary in 2009. Until 2016 part of Koninginneland, the city was founded in 1999 as the first of four projected in the Vierstedenplan by the then minister of regional planning Anton Wolff. Originally meant to take some pressure away from the over-populated cities of Alexanderstad and Friescheburg, Nijenstijn became very popular among wealthier Kronenburgers. Not only rich people however live in Nijenstijn; although the city now has the highest villa density of Kronenburg, there are some housing-estates and appartment buildings for persons who cannot afford to live in a villa. In ten years, the number of inhabitants of Nijenstijn has reached approximately 103,000, but without really causing the desired effect on the over-population in Alexanderstad and Friescheburg. Due to the economic crisis the city's growth has slightly slowed down.

The villas of Nijenstijn are nice to take a look at. Although there are no official tours, the municipality does hand out headphones with spoken information about building styles and the short history of the city. This information can be listened to real-life when following the route of bus 17, which therefore has a partial status of tourist bus. The central square, which is surrounded by shops one would normally find in taxfree areas on an airport, is decorated with a large, modern statue consisting of three large, snake-like pilars with bent tips.

The rest of the northern part of Westerland are sloping fields with some small forests. Three villages that are also part of this municipality, are Kloosterholt in the north, Iefte in the west and Baseul in the south. Iefte has an attractive lighthouse, which is one of the oldest in Kronenburg and can be visited by the public.

Located off the coast of the West Island, the city of Zuiderland as well as the village of Wending can be found on the Zuidereiland (South Island). Zuiderland was founded in 1722 and proved attractive for the second wave of Danes and other Scandinavians coming to Kronenburg. The population of the city mixed quite nicely, creating a typical dialect.

The western part of the South Island is famous for its nice little beaches and the city is therefore dedicated to beach tourism. The southern part of the island is property of the army of Kronenburg and set up as a military training-ground. Zuiderland has almost no industry, but it is the residence of the main building of one of the country's largest academies. Special mention deserves the Marcuskerk (Marcus Church), next to the city hall. The former building burnt completely down in the seventies and now there is a new, modern building, which looks more like an airport terminal than a church. Especially the lack of a tower was cause for criticism before and during the building of the church.

On two of the other islands the villages of Vishaven and Fort Frisia are located. The ruins of the fortress of Fort Frisia now host a war documentation centre.

Zuiderland was the first municipality in Kronenburg to have a woman mayor: Irene Abee-Tissingh was the wife of Etto Abee (1887 - 1930), who was elected mayor of Zuiderland, but died before he could take office. It was then decided that his widow was allowed to replace him.

Mayors of Westerland

1609 - 1617
1617 - 1619
1619 - 1634
1634 - 1639
1639 - 1650
1650 - 1650
1650 - 1657
1657 - 1669
1669 - 1685
1685 - 1691
1691 - 1703
1703 - 1711
1711 - 1719
1719 - 1734
1734 - 1760
1760 - 1781
1781 - 1790
1790 - 1795
1795 - 1796
1796 - 1816

Oeds Tjallingha
Peter Jansma
Hans Tadema
Jetze Bijlsma
Fokke Dykstra
Harm Harmsen
Hylke Sietsema
Thaeke Roorda
Foppe Haaksma
Thaeke Jelsma
Barend Ekkert
Anne Jansen
Gradus Wiersma
Han Lutma
Benne Fokkema
Oeds Haaksma
Ids Wubs
Nanne Harmsen
Aike Maarsingh
Fokko Attema Tadema

1816 - 1821
1821 - 1829
1829 - 1833
1833 - 1852
1852 - 1858
1858 - 1861
1861 - 1873
1873 - 1888
1888 - 1894
1894 - 1901
1901 - 1924
1924 - 1929
1929 - 1938
1938 - 1941
1941 - 1947
1947 - 1953
1953 - 1969
1969 - 1978
1978 - 1981
1981 - 1987

Thorolf Johansson
Hendrik Andersen
Harm-Nanne Kronenburger
Jelle Fossema Jaltada
Harm-Jan Koops
Harmen Reder
Karsten Thomasson
Gerrit Vierthout
Bram Nutma
Pieter-Jan Okkema Tuinstra
Han Idsma Tadema
Jan Abma
Cornelis Bosman van Hoogeveen
Leo Bouma
George Carter
Dora van der Velde (f)
Theo Vissker
Karel Bijlsma Tadema
Michael Leese
Gerhard Bauknegt

1987 - 1988
1988 - 1994
1994 - 2008
2008 - 2015
2015 - 2015
2016 - 2016

Marjan (Anners-) Bijlsma (f)
Cees Fultsema
Bernd Evertsen
Geert Booman
Wojciech Jędrzejewicz
Eilard Winchester