Home General Data History Culture Politics Map Encyclopedia About Links

The Kingdom of Kronenburg is a constitutional monarchy and a paliamentary democracy, which has been divided in four so called 'Elements' since 1 January 2016. The four Elements are Kronenburg proper, West-Cod, the White Islands, and the Kronenburg Virgin Islands. In practice, these Elements operate as independent countries but together they form the Kingdom of Kronenburg. The head of state of all Elements is the King (or Queen), who has limited political power, and who is represented by a King's (or Queen's) Governor in West-Cod, the White Islands, and the Virgin Islands.

De Zuidkamer serves as the combined parliament of the four Elements and is elected once every five years. The last Zuidkamer elections took place on various days in late 2015; the next will take place in late 2020.

In Kronenburg proper, the King or Queen appoints the Advisor General after Noordkamer-elections; mostly this is the leader of the party that won the most votes and most often the Advisor General becomes the next prime minister - although these are more traditions than mandatory courses of action. Furthermore, the King or Queen proclaims the Promulgation at the first Friday of February every year, by which the parliamentary year is opened. The head of state also has to confirm bills that have been approved by the Noordkamer. He or she has however the constitutional right to refuse to do so. Such a refusal would lead to nasty political and constitutional complications, but such a situation has never arisen yet.

Since 2016, elections to the Noordkamer occur by a combined system of district and proportional representation, where each municipality acts as an electoral district. Elections take place on the last Wednesday of October at least every five years. After these elections, the king appoints the Advisor General, who tries to form a governing coalition, when his or her party doesn't have a majority in the Noordkamer. The resulting government is known as the Oostkamer. Since 2016, the Noordkamer has 101 seats. The last Noordkamer elections took place on 31 October 2018; the next will probably take place on 25 October 2023.

More informaton can be found on the following pages:
- The Monarchy
- Noordkamer, Westkamer, and Zuidkamer (legislative branches of government)
- The Prime Minister (executive branch of government)
- Oostkamer (executive branch of government)
- Elections
- Advisor General
- Municipalities