Home General Data History Culture Politics Map Encyclopedia About Links
Biographies Phenomena s s s s s s s


The Liberal Kronenburg Party ('Liberale Kronenburgse Partij' in Dutch) is a liberal political party in Kronenburg.

The LKP was founded in 1882 and therefore it is the oldest still existing political party in Kronenburg. During her existence, the LKP was part of government several times, alone or with coalition partners. Since the function of prime minister was created in 1981, two prime ministers were members of the LKP: Sander Opland Falting (1989 - 2001) and Sonja Brahms (2001 - 2007). Also the acting prime ministers Anton Wolff (2001) and Annemarie Torringa-Haraldson (2007 - 2008) were LKP-members.

The LKP is a typical liberal party which likes as little state interference in trade and industry as reasonably possible. Officially, the LKP favours the reintroduction of the death penalty, but since most other parties have been opposed to that in the last 40 or 50 years, they haven't been able to change the law.

For a period of about twenty years (late 1980's til a few years ago), the LKP was very popular. The party benefited from the decline in popularity of the CGU and managed to stay the largest party in the Noordkamer from 1989 to 2008. The LKP got however blamed for the economic crisis and suffered a few election losses.

Political leaders of the LKP since WOII:
Fred Bielsma (1947 - 1952)
Fetze Diemert (1952 - 1968)
Thorsten Ditmar (1968 - 1973)
Martin Staal (1973)
Anton Wolff (1973 - 1977)
Sonja Brahms (1977 - 1985) first time
Willem Bunnema (1985 - 1988)
Sander Opland Falting (1988 - 2000)
Fokko Korte van Eeghen (2000 - 2001)
Sonja Brahms (2001 - 2007) second time
Annemarie Torringa-Haraldson (2007 - 2011)
Geert van Suchtelen (February - April 2011)
Poul-Helge Espersen (since April 2011)