Since the majority of the people of Cartyas follow the Nagaskiskian Faith, Cartyas follows the calendar that is related to that religion. This calendar starts with the life of the prophet Evarnes, who was born in 314 CE. Like the Gregorian calendar, the Nagaskiskian calendar has 365 or 366 days in one year, but it starts around the Winter Solstice on 20 or 21 December. On 20 December 2014, the year 1700 has started.  As Evarnes's age has been followed quite closely, the timeline starts with a 'year 0' during the first twelve months of his life, so the counting of years starts on 21 December 315 CE.

Nagaskiskian calendar
There are twelve months of 30 days in the Nagaskiskian calendar. To get to 365 or 366 days a year, three festive days are added for the Summer Solstice after the first six months and two or (every four years) three festive days for the Winter Solstice after the second six months. In a cycle of four years, the fourth year is always the leap year, so the year 1700, which started on 20 December 2014, is a Nagaskiskian leap year, which means that this year will have three festive Winter Solstice days at the end of the year.

In the table below the Nagaskiskian months are listed with their first and last days in comparison to the Gregorian calendar. The days that are added to the Nagaskian and Gregorian calendars because of leap years are only 70 days away from each other; when there is a choice in the table between two days, the later date should be taken in this period of 70 days, so 12 nesćeli = 1 January 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020 etc.; in the years in between, 12 nesćeli = 31 December 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016 etc.

s Name First day Last day Remarks
1 nesćeli 20/21 December 18/19 January s
2 xexeli 19/20 January 17/18 February s
3 b́ėli 18/19 February 19 March 29/2 every 4 years
4 idvȧrq́eli 20 March 18 April s
5 maia 19 April 18 May s
6 ev́eli 19 May 17 June s
6b uǵȯlixei ezi 18 June 20 June Summer Solstice
7 iǵocėltu 21 June 20 July s
8 lecėli 21 July 19 August s
9 ixon 20 August 18 September s
10 idox́ȧli 19 September 18 October s
11 oq́u̇li 19 October 17 November s
12 ȧlhu̇q́ 18 November 17 December s
12 uǵȯlixei źu̇ 18 December 19/20 December Winter Solstice

Gregorian calendar
The non-Nagaskiskian inhabitants of Cartyas do follow the Gregorian calendar, although they often have to adapt to the Nagaskiskian system anyway: Christmas for instance is not a Nagaskiskian holiday, so 24, 25 and 26 December are normal working days. For this reason, Christians generally celebrate Christmas in the weekend before or after the actual date.

The twelve Gregorian months are rendered thus: vinuȧ, fėbruȧ, merx, april, maia, vuni, vuli, ȧgust, septembır, oqtȯbır, nȯvembır, and dėxembır. As all time indicating names in Cartian, they start with a lower case letter.

An example of a 1702 (2016/2017) calendar can be found here.

Weeks and days
The Nagaskiskian calendar has weeks of six days, which means that there are exactly five weeks in one month. The names of the days are evȧrnezi, alisćėzi, usćitėzi, semirızi, gizi, and uǵȯnox́ėzi.

In Cartian tradition, the weeks are 'suspended' during the festive days of the Summer and Winter Solstice; the two or three days of these festive periods are simply called vuteni ezi (first day), v́ėxeni ezi (second day), and ćėv́eni ezi (third day).

In the Gregorian calendar, the following seven days are used: mȯntȧg, dinstȧg, ev́ıdȧ, donıstȧg, ṕrėtȧg, ugezi, tahu̇nśėnźi.

19th century governors tried to introduce the Gregorian system to Cartyas in order to give the country a more modern appearance. As they used advisors from Prussia and Schellingen, the names of the months and the days were derived from German. In 1922 it was decided that the original Cartian Nagaskiskian system would be official again.