Political system

Cartyas has a highly decentralised form of government. There are three levels: on the lowest are the Cėv́ixe ('Towns') and Remixe ('Fields'), which can be compared to municipalities, but with a much larger internal autonomy. Cėv́ixe and Remixe can join each other rather freely into Ȧshulėxe ('Regions' or 'Provinces'). These Ȧshulėxe can be formed for several reasons, not only geographical proximity, which is why Ȧshulėxe don't always seem like coherent territories. Furthermore, because joining an Ȧshule isn't mandatory, not all Cėv́ixe and Remixe are part of one.

The difference between Cėv́ixe and Remixe isn't always clear. In general, a Cėv́i contains only one settlement, the buildings of which are located in each others close vicinity. A Remi contains several settlements, one (or sometimes two) of which are leading, but often a territory with only one settlement can be considered a Remi when its buildings are dispersed (these are mostly farms).

Cėv́ixe and Remixe are governed by a Xėneźahėsćeni Ocalgi ('Council of Aldermen'), which can contain a varying number of Xėneźahėxe ('Aldermen') and which is chaired by a Cȧrq́ėtq́aǵo ('Mayor', in Cėv́ixe) or a Gizeuhė ('Sherrif', in Remixe). The adult inhabitants of each Cėv́i and Remi gather annually in order to discuss and assess the policies and achievements of the Council of the last year. In settlements that have too many inhabitants to invite everyone to this meeting, representatives are elected by the people.

The citizens or their representatives together with the Xėneźahėsćeni Ocalgi of Cėv́ixe and Remixe that are part of an Ȧshulė send representatives to the annual meeting of the Ȧshulėsćeni V́ėlȧ ('Meeting of the Region') in order to discuss and assess the policies and achievements of the Ȧshulėsćeni Ocalgi ('Regional Council') of the past year. Since Cėv́ixe and Remixe have to agree to join an Ȧshulė, the mandate of the Ȧshulėsćeni Ocalgi is normally very clear and easily assessible.

The highest level is the national level. Representatives of the lower levels together form the Źu̇x́o (the 'Thing', which is the national parliament), which discusses and assesses the policies and achievements of the Ministeresćeni Ocalgi ('Council of Ministers').

As a result of the current system, which was introduced in 1922, Cartyas has known continuously functioning executive councils since that year, when their members were first appointed. Each council decides for itself who will join or leave and how the portfolios are devided. Only when the people's representatives feel that a decision about the council's composition doesn't serve the best interests of their field of responsibility, they issue a binding advice to the Council to reconsider its decision. Being sacked as Council member by the responsible controling organ is permanent and applicable on all government levels: a minister who has been saced cannot become an Alderman, Regional Council member or minister ever again.

Traditionally, the controling organs convene annually for a period of five to ten days, although special delegations get together already before the official meeting in order to prepare the agenda. The meetings, during which members of the executive councils can be questioned, generally end with a long list of recommendations (many of which are also binding if a two-third majority agrees) for the next year. Recently however, there have been discussions to use the internet to  increase the amount of possible meetings in order to be able to respond more swiftly to pressing matters.

There is a head of state, the X́ahalȧ ('Governor') who is appointed for life and whose function is entirely ceremonial. When the former X́ahalȧ dies, the next one is elected by the Źu̇x́o. The X́ahalȧ serves as an example in Cartian society and he is the Protector of the Country and the Defender of the (Nagaskistic) Faith.

An organigram of the government of Cartyas can be found here.